## **Campus Information**

## Professor Junji Tagami of the Department of Cariology and Operative Dentistry, Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences, receives the 2017 IADR Wilmer Souder Award

**THE INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION** for Dental Research (IADR) presented Prof. Junji Tagami of the Department of Cariology and Operative Dentistry, at TMDU's Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences, with the 2017 IADR Wilmer Souder Award at the 95th General Session & Exhibition of the IADR held in San Francisco on March 22, 2017.

The Award, founded in 1955, is the oldest of the 17 IADR Distinguished Scientist Awards, which honoring Dr. Wilmer Souder, the father of modern dental materials research, for his



motivating force in establishing the Dental Section at the National Bureau of Standards (currently referred to as the National Institute of Standards and Technology). This Award is designed to encourage advancement in dental materials research based on scientific concepts, and is made on the basis of scientific achievement of outstanding quality that is considered to lead to significant advancements in dental service to the public. It is intended to confer the highest honor in the field of dental materials research.

Prof. Tagami is the first Japanese researcher to have received the Wilmer Souder Award since 1999. His fundamental research on the mechanisms of adhesion to tooth tissue has greatly contributed to the development of new bonding approaches, leading to the advancement of adhesive dentistry.



Prof. Tagami (right), with Prof. Jukka Meurmam of University of Helsinki, who was then President of IADR, at the 2017 IADR Wilmer Souder Award ceremony

Eugen-und-Ilse-Seibold-Preis (Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize) awarded to Professor Takeshi Tsubata of the Department of Immunology, Medical Research Institute

**PROF. TAKESHI TSUBATA** of the Department of Immunology, Medical Research Institute of TMDU was awarded the Eugen-und-Ilse-Seibold-Preis (Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize) by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation) on Oct. 10, 2017 in Bonn, Germany.

This Prize, named after marine geologist, Prof. Eugen Seibold, and his wife, Ilse Seibold, is awarded once every two years to one Japanese and one German researcher in honor of their long-term successful and dedicated commitment to academic and cultural exchange between the two countries, and for particular achievements in all fields of research. Prof. Tsubata is the first researcher to have received the Prize in the field of Life Science and Medicine. He is honored for an outstanding contribution to "discovering novel aspects of the basic principles of the humoral immune response."

In the normal immune system, antibodies are produced in reaction only to microbes, not to other components, including self-components. Prof. Tsubata's research group has made various advancements and vital contributions to the immunology field, including identification and clarification of the mechanism by which antibodies are produced only to microbes, identification of the signal cascade for inducing the B lymphocytes of suppressive function, and identification of a receptor to prevent autoimmunity via recognizing self-components.



Prizewinners Prof. Tsubata second from left and his German counterpart, Prof. Thomas Bock, at the award ceremony with Prof. Katja Becker, Vice President of the German Research Foundation (left) and Dr. Ursula Seibold-Bultmann, daughter of the Seibolds (right).